Rad Reading-december

Awesomely Austen Pride and Prejudice

Words bye Katherine Woodfine

doodles bye Eglantine Ceulemans

In December I read a book called Pride and Prejudice, buts it’s not what you think. Instead, it’s written for kids, it has some fun doodles along the way to really picture the scenes and the characters, and it was rewritten to make it less wordy and shorter. It’s about a girl names Elizabeth Bennet who is the second oldest of five siblings. She is determined to only marry for love, not wealth. Her mom wants her to marry really bad, someone that’s rich and proper. She meets a man names Mr. Darcy, and she thinks that he’s stuck up and “haughty.” Over the course of the story she meets more people she think she might love, and slowly begins loving Mr. Darcy.

I like this book because I love romance. It’s funny in some places and romantic in others. The story made me want to keep reading even though it was way past my bedtime. It was a page-turner all the way through. I loved how the word were written to make it more understandable for younger kids like me, and the doodles to make it easier to focus along the way.

My favorite character is Mrs. Bennet. She was more of a side character, but she was really funny. All she would talk about in how much she wanted her daughter to marry, and she kept being totally dramatic through the entire book. She would complain about “her nerves.” And how he daughter must marry or she would never speak to them again.

My favorite quote was from Mr. Bennet. He says, “‘Hmmm. Well, a difficult choice before, Elizabeth. From this day, you will be a stranger to one of your parents. Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr. Collins. And I will never see you again if you do!’” (Pg 67) I know, both parents are bing dramatic, but i still love it because of how funny it is. That fact that they will “never speak to her again” made me laughing in my bed. I like the subtle humor put into this.

One thought on “Rad Reading-december

  1. This is one of my favourite all time novels! I have read it multiple times. Plus I have “sequels” not written by Jane Austen because I just love the characters so much. A whole shelf in my home library is dedicated to my Jane Austen books!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *