RAD READING-March

Divergent

Veronica Roth

This month I read a book called Divergent, by Veronica Roth. Divergent is about a dystopian city where everything is run down, and to make it work well, everyone is split into factions. The factions are Dauntless, the brave. Amity, the kind. Candor, the honest. Erudite, the intelligent. And abnegation, the selfless. Dauntless are for protection, amity for food, candor for law enforcement, erudite for doctors and teachers, and abnegation as government officials. Beatrice, or Tris, is a mix of erudite, dauntless, and abnegation. She ends up choosing dauntless, for the trill and excitement. But she soon learn that being divergent, having more than one choice, is a very bad thing. She has to fight her way to get to the top of dauntless initiation, fight to keep her feeling away from her parents, and fight to not get found about being divergent. This story is about having a choice and love. And I really like it.

I like this book because it’s adrenalin packed, with lots of plots twists and some romance in it. It’s about how “one choice can transform you,” which is written on the front cover. It shows that everyone has a choice, and everyone has an opinion, like sure, your parents and family are all in abnegation. But being selfless isn’t for me. I’d rather be free roaming and happy, in dauntless. That was Tris’ decision by the way, I’d much rather be amity. I like this book showing how an opinion and then a choice is all the matters, your opinion, your choice. It’s not showing how you should always listen and do what you’re not loving. When I was younger, my parents put me in gymnastics, and I didn’t like it. My opinion, and choice, was to get of it. It made me do soccer, which I love, and okay it all the way up until twelve. Other peoples opinion and choice matters too.

My favorite character is Tris’ mother, Natalie Prior. She is the ultimate mom, she died for her daughter when the erudite started to attack, and died a heroic death. Also, when Tris decided to leave abnegation for dauntless, she wasn’t mad. She was happy for her daughter, because later, we figure out she was dauntless! My favorite quote is page 179. She came to visit Tris for visiting day, Tris’ old habits are back to treat other first, but her mom says this line “‘Todays is a special occasion,’ she says. “I came to see you, so let’s talk mostly about you. It is my gift to you’” this line warms my heart, showing how much her mother wants to hear about her, instead of telling Tris about what’s going on at home with her father.

My favorite quote is still the one above, that Tris’ mother says. I feel like it is so kind caring more about others than herself, sacrificing to talk about her self, and state how the family’s going, to talk more about her daughter. And being kind to listen patiently and not interrupting.

One thought on “RAD READING-March

  1. Please choose different quotes for characterization and one that was your fav or stood out to you. This is a big book so I think you can find two separate ones. Also, what is not clear is Tris’ mum’s character trait. While you explain the quote, what trait does that demonstrate about her mum?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *